Would You Still Love Me?

Standard

If I take you to my closet
Only for you to find skeletons there
Would you still love me?

If I’m not able to be strong
After all, the flesh gets weak at times
Would you still love me?

If I can’t afford all the fancy things you want
Cos the means isn’t available yet
Would you still love me?

If I confessed my worst sin to you
Make known to your ears my wrong deeds
Would you still love me?

If I could no longer write poetry
Or sing you melodious songs
Would you still love me?

If my black hairs turned grey
And my cucumber becomes a vegetable
Would you still love me?

9 thoughts on “Would You Still Love Me?

  1. Rujeko

    loved that! So simply expressed and yet so vulnerably relayed it kinda’ pierces. I liked it!

    Check the last line of the first stanza pp
    on the third stanza I think it should be ‘ain’t’ and not ‘isn’t’

    Not sure if this is a critiquing platform but just thought I’d bring those to your attention.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for bringing that (about the last line in the first stanza) to my notice, to think I didn’t even see it while rereading the post. Lol. Uhm about the ‘ain’t’ I actually used it in the first draft cos it assonated with ‘available’ but I felt it was too colloquial (and American) sort of, was why I jettisoned it in the final draft. Semantically, ‘ain’t’ and ‘isn’t’ are synonymous in meaning. So isn’t is also correct, but I’ll admit ain’t sounds more lyrical though.

      Thanks for the constructive contribution, ma’am πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

