The Word of Promise by Okezieorji Patra

Standard

I broke the word of promise,
After keeping it so close to my heart.
I wish to see beyond the world,
Yes! The zeal is here,
But lo! I’m weak.
Feels like I’m in chains:
Chains of materialism,
Chains of trends,
Chains of style and fashion…
Oh, I want to see the light,
The shinning light that heralds the word of promise.
Moulded from the dust of the earth,
Flesh so fragile like earthen clay.
I must break free, off these chains
So I can find that which I seek,
The word of promise.
I do not pray to lose a diamond
While picking stones,
I need the light which keeping the word of promise brings.
It has dawned on me that I am in bondage
Of the three letter words called “SIN”,
And I have come to acknowledge that a sinful life
Is like a broken down house where I shall find
No safety, no solace, no comfort; nor peace, joy, happiness, or rest.
The word of promise will make me anew,
And I shall rejoice.
Yes! I should revolt and conquer now,
Behold! I shall get a new name as Abraham did;
From Abram to Abraham and he got the word of promise,
For he was willing to sacrifice his only son.
I shall do away with the garment of flesh,
Which is vanity after all.
Like a new born I’ll get a new name,
My eyes shall behold the Light,
And my heart will keep the word of promise
Which brings salvation.

 

FB_IMG_1449996006667~2

Okezieorji Patra Adaeze

Okezieorji Adaeze Patra hails from Anambra State in South-Eastern Nigeria. She loves reading and often writes, especially poetry, in her spare time. She’s presently a final year student in the department of English and Literary Studies at Anambra State University, Igbariam.

7 thoughts on “The Word of Promise by Okezieorji Patra

Leave a Reply

